Another birthday card – must be June!

Welcome back!

Hope you had a good weekend. Mine was way too short. (how does that happen?)

Today’s card is another birthday card! However, it could easily be used for other things by changing the sentiment. For example, you could add a “you’re so sweet” or “Hey Cupcake!” or maybe “Hi Sweetie” or even “Everything is better with a cupcake!” or “life is sweet” or “how sweet it is” or just plain “celebrate”  ….. you get the idea. BUT, in this case, it is another birthday card!!

I got to use one of my favorite techniques again – emboss resist. I never get tired of this! (I hope you don’t either!) I stamped the cupcakes with a couple of cupcake stamps from Inkadinkado’s  set “Birthday Cupcakes” on white card stock with VersaMark ink. I embossed some with clear embossing powder and some with pink (clear is from Stampin’ Up – I really like their clear ep and the pink is Blushing Pink from Stampendous).  Using an ink blending tool, I covered the card stock with Worn Lipstick Distress ink. I use an almost dry baby wipe to remove any excess in from the embossed areas. I find if the baby wipe is too damp, it makes the card stock curl. I then let it dry completely before stamping a few more cupcakes with VersaMark and embossed with All Night Media’s blue embossing powder. You have to let it dry really well or when you sprinkle the blue powder, it will stick to anything that is wet…. trust me…..  🙂

I attached a blue polka dot ribbon to the front of the card stock with my tape gun  – wrapping the edges around the back about 1/2 in on each side…. no need to waste ribbon where it won’t be seen!

I attached the embossed stock to the red card base. I stamped the sentiment “Sweet birthday wishes” also from the Birthday Cupcakes set on the same red card stock with VersaMark and embossed with white embossing powder. I mounted it over the ribbon with foam dimensionals. I added the heart from “Lovely Hearts” a fun set of hearts by EK Success and the jewels that are from a big container in my stash!! I really don’t know who makes them …. but they sure are cute and come in really handy!  The icing on the cake (so to speak!) is Stickles from Ranger in Cotton Candy.

That’s the card! Hope you like it and that it inspire you to create.  Please subscribe if you’re having fun so you can get updates as I get to them.

Later,

S

Leave a Reply

