Let’s patch things up

Hi! I hope you enjoyed your weekend – they go by soooo fast!

This was such a fun card to make. I really love the Bright Side paper from Lawn Fawn – really colorful and fun. I wanted to use several of them so I decided to do a patchwork design. I cut the paper that I wanted to use in strips 1″ wide and adhered them to a piece of plain (copy) paper side by side. I then turned the paper so the “stripes” made by the side by side papers were horizontal and I cut across those stripes into 1″ strips. I then had 6 1″ strips made up of 4 1″ squares. (clear as mud?) I then laid these out so that it formed the patchwork pattern and trimmed it to a square.

I laid my new patchwork square on the Kraft cardstock and with a pencil traced the outline lightly onto the Kraft stock. This way I could move the patchwork out of my way while I stamped “im sorry” around the square. I wanted it to be simple, so I chose to use all lower case and to omit the apostrophe. (my apologies to those who grammar sensibilities I’ve offended!) I stamped this with Dark Brown Chalk ink using Lawn Fawn’s Sally’s ABCs (which was a birthday present to this Sally!) It’s such a cute font! I stamped the little heart with a tiny heart stamp from Lawn fawn’s Love N Breakfast. I stamped it with Color Box Chalk ink in Alabaster and it was really too light on the Kraft card stock, so I drew over it with a white gel pen.

I tied the lavender ribbon around the patchwork part before adhering it to the Kraft stock. I was originally going to layer the patchwork directly on the Kraft card base but I felt it needed a bit of color, so I cut a piece of lavender card stock the same size as the card front and attached it to the base. Then I adhered the Kraft card stock on the lavender.  I wanted the play on the word patch so I stamped it  in the upper case of Sally’s ABCs on a small square of the same lavender card stock. I stamped the rest of the sentiment using a set of itsy-bitsy letter stamps by Hampton Arts – Studio G. I finished up with some faux stitching.

I hope you enjoyed this card – I really had fun making it. At this time, I don’t have anyone to give it to – hopefully it will stay in my stash for a long time! But it’s so cute, I might have to pick a fight so I have someone to send it to! 😉

My hope (as always) is that it will inspire you to create.

Later,

S

If you have any questions, you can leave a comment or send me an email through the contact tab above. Some things are just not easy follow without a visual (or is that just me??)!

One thought on “Let’s patch things up

Leave a Reply

