Letterpress Fun!

Hi – It’s FRIDAY!!!

In true Friday fashion – let’s make a happiness card. This was lots of fun to make – a little messy but hey it’s not real if you don’t have ink all over you! Actually, it doesn’t have to be messy – I think that’s just me being messy. The is the faux letterpress technique. I used an embossing folder “Bird Call” and inked the raised side. You can play with your embossing folders when you do this and try changing the side you ink …. you get radically different images.

Just a note: your embossing folders clean up with water. I have a couple that are slightly discolored (probably the difference in the ink I used) but it doesn’t change the way it embosses. I would not try using a Stazon ink but again, I doubt that it would really hurt the folder.

Well, life got in the way and I didn’t finish Fridays post until Saturday morning….. sorry!

Where was I?  Oh right, I was inking my embossing folder with Stampin’ Up Dusty Durango ink and running the folder and card stock through my “purse” (Sizzix Texture Boutique).  I cut the embossed card stock into quarters. I inked all of the edges lightly with black to define them a bit. I laid them out on my card base until I was happy with the placement. (I’m not a measurer – I usually eyeball it and sometimes you can tell (!) but that makes it personal – right?)  I adhered them to the base with foam dimensionals. I cut a piece of the same card stock using Nestabilites #8.  I inked the edges and stamped the sentiment “happiness” from Stampin’ Up’s Warm Words set and adhered it with more foam dimensionals. I added ribbon and a cheating bow (you tie the bow and glue it to the flat ribbon – sometimes its just the best option).

That’s it. I hope it inspires you to try the letterpress technique – it really stretches the use of your embossing folders not to mention being pretty darn cute!

Have a great Saturday!

S

Leave a Reply

